Skip to content

Keep in Touch

Keep in Touch

Gunnedah’s Australia Day Award recipients announced

25 January 2020

Gunnedah Shire has congratulated its newest Australia Day Award recipients at a special community dinner.

The Australia Day Awards Dinner was held tonight at the Gunnedah Town Hall, with the Shire’s Australia Day Ambassador surf lifesaver Doug Hawkins as guest speaker.

“This is a really special event in Gunnedah’s calendar,” Mayor Jamie Chaffey said.

“It’s a celebration where we recognise the outstanding contribution our citizens make to the Shire.

“These nominees have given their time and their efforts to help make Gunnedah a better place, and we are proud to have them as part of our community.”

Minister for Regional Services, Decentralisation and Local Government and Member for Parkes Mark Coulton attended the dinner and congratulated the recipients.

Another highlight was the presentation of a Chamber Flag – a flag that has been hung on a Parliamentary sitting day outside the Chambers, with an accompanying certificate, to Gunnedah Rural Museum/Men’s Shed by Mr Coulton.

The certificate was signed by the Speaker of the House and includes the date it hung outside Parliament.

Gunnedah’s Citizen of the Year for 2020 is Dominic Goodwin-Hauck, who is a well-known volunteer in the Gunnedah Shire. Dominic is a role model for young people, donating his time to many organisations including GoCo, the Gunnedah Library and the Conservatorium, and he is an active leader on the Gunnedah Youth Council.

Gunnedah’s Young Citizen of the Year is Lucy Moore. Lucy, who was a vice-captain at Gunnedah High School, worked closely with her senior leaders to deliver fundraising targets and raise awareness about bullying.
She was also part of Lions Youth of the Year and Rotary’s Public Speaking Competitions, and received a number of awards at the end of Year 12 in 2019.

Gunnedah’s Australia Day Award recipients for 2020 are:

Citizen of the Year – Dominic Goodwin-Hauck
Young Citizen of the Year – Lucy Moore
Ossie and Beryl Campbell Memorial Volunteer of the Year – Dixie Walker
Community Organisation and/or event achievement – Gunnedah & District Historical Society
Max and Mikie Maas Good Neighbour – Chris and James Rolls
Sportsperson of the Year – Sarah Stewart
Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Andrew Osmond
Sports Team of the Year – Gunnedah Motorcycle Club
Junior Sports Team of the Year – St Xavier’s School Tennis Team
Ivan Towns Memorial Award Coach of the Year – Craig Louis.

“Congratulations to all the recipients and to the nominees,” Cr Chaffey said. “And we thank all the people who nominated those who are doing something really worthwhile.”


Caption: Gunnedah Shire Mayor Jamie Chaffey with Gunnedah Citizen of the Year Dominic Goodwin-Hauck.


Media contact: Eliza Gallen (02) 6740 2100.