Skip to content

Keep in Touch

Keep in Touch

2019 Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund supports local tertiary journeys

1 February 2019

Twenty-four local young people in Gunnedah looking to pursue tertiary studies have received a helping hand from the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund.

More than $30,000 was distributed to the successful recipients at a ceremony at The Civic on Thursday afternoon.

Gunnedah Shire Councillor Ann Luke said the Fund is designed to ease financial pressures on students and their families for the future benefit of rural communities.

“This is one of the biggest years to date the Fund has had financially thanks to the generosity of the community, and major sponsors including Apex Club of Gunnedah and eIMEx,” Cr Luke said.

“We are proud to be able to support our local students in taking their first steps towards the next stage of their lives.

“Congratulations to this year’s recipients and best wishes for the future.”

The Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund Committee and Gunnedah Shire Council congratulate the following recipients:

  • Sophie Perkins – Bachelor of Social Work
  • Jaxon Holbrook – Bachelor of Business/Bachelor of Commerce
  • Whitney Mansfield – Bachelor of Business/Bachelor of Laws
  • Casey Egan – Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education (Primary/Early Childhood)
  • Ashleigh Burns – Bachelor of Accounting
  • Allison Clark – Bachelor of Laws/Bachelor of Arts
  • Laura Watterson – Bachelor in Health Science (Paramedicine)
  • Larissa Whelan – Bachelor of Primary Education
  • Georgia Anderson – Bachelor of Psychology (Honours)
  • Kyra Carlyon – Bachelor of Business
  • Clayton Small – Bachelor of Engineering (Honours in Aerospace)
  • Amy Vincent – Bachelor of Nursing
  • Sirrah Harris – Bachelor of Agriculture
  • Emmerson Tull – Bachelor of Psychological Science/Bachelor of Laws
  • Brianna Hagan – Bachelor of Secondary Teaching (Health and Physical Education)
  • Emma Kennedy – Bachelor of Business
  • Krystal Jauja – Bachelor of Paramedicine
  • Pennie Broekman – Bachelor of Education (Secondary Arts)
  • Maria Ortiz – Bachelor of Journalism/Bachelor of Communication and Media
  • Maja Heath – Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours)
  • Haylee Murrell – Bachelor Rural Science
  • Carla Douglas – Bachelor of Nursing
  • Jessica Moore – Bachelor of Communication
  • Jordyn Ralph – Bachelor of Nursing

For more information on the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund visit or contact Youth Development Officer Sewa Emojong on (02) 6740 2100 or

Photo Caption: The 2019 Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund recipients were announced at a ceremony at The Civic on Thursday.


Media Contact: Ashley Gardner 6740 2100.