Skip to content



Keep in Touch

Keep in Touch

2017 Australia Day Award Nominations Now Open! Recognise the Great in Gunnedah

Australia Day 2017 Award nominations are now open. The Australia Day Committee is seeking nominations for people or groups who exhibit good citizenship and community qualities. This year the focus will be on those who are seen as good ‘role models’ in the wider Gunnedah Shire Community and who have made outstanding contributions and/or accomplished outstanding achievements in their particular areas of interest.

Nomination can be made in a variety of categories. This year the categories are:

  • Citizen of the Year Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award
  • Eve Turner Perpetual Trophy
  • Community Achievement Award
  • Cultural Award
  • Ossie and Beryl Campbell Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Ivan Towns Memorial Award
  • Max and Mikie Maas Good Neighbour Award
  • Junior Female Sportsperson of the Year Award
  • Female Sportsperson of the Year Award
  • Junior Male Sportsperson of the Year Award
  • Male Sportsperson of the Year Award
  • Junior Sports Team of the Year
  • Sports Team of the Year

Nomination forms are now available online or from the Gunnedah Shire Library Conadilly Street, The Civic Centre on Chandos Street or the Gunnedah Shire Council Building on Elgin Street.

{rsfiles path="GunnedahShireCouncil/COUNCIL/KEEP-IN-TOUCH/News-and-Media/Media-Releases/Australia Day Awards Nomination Form 2017.pdf"}

“There are so many people in the Gunnedah Shire who are community minded- high achievers. This is the perfect opportunity to recognise their contribution.” Gunnedah Shire Council Events Officer Laurieann Boag said.

“We all notice amazing people from time to time, and quietly appreciate their efforts. This is a way to publicly thank them for all they do. It’s always nice to receive a ‘thanks’ for your hard work, no matter how much of a quiet achiever you may be” she concluded.

Award winners will be announced in January 2017 during our Australia Day Celebrations. All community members are encouraged to come along and enjoy the festivities. Please note nominations close Friday 16 December 2016, so get in early to avoid missing out.


Media Contact: Eliza Gallen 6740 2100