Skip to content



Keep in Touch

Keep in Touch

Community Scholarship Fund a springboard for 28 young locals

February 7, 2024

Gunnedah Shire is sending 28 young local people off on their education adventure with the support of a Gunnedah Community Scholarship.

Gunnedah Shire Mayor Jamie Chaffey said he was proud to present scholarships to one of the largest numbers of students in the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund’s 21-year history.

“This is one of Council’s highlights of the year, making tertiary education just a little bit more accessible to our young people,” Cr Chaffey said.

“This is a big time in their lives and, in partnership with the local community, the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund offers financial assistance that eases the way and shows the recipients their home town supports their further learning.

“More than 20 years ago, former Gunnedah Shire Mayor Gae Swain OAM founded this fund to encourage young people to pursue further education – and to possibly return home with a whole new set of valuable skills.

“In that time, we have seen hundreds of people head off to study in a huge range of areas – from medicine to occupational therapy, and engineering to teaching. It has made a difference to many young people, and many families.”

Community and business sponsors – including Whitehaven Coal, Santos, Forsyths Accounting and Financial Services, Club Gunnedah, Rotary Club of Gunnedah West and Gunnedah Rotary Club - partnered with Gunnedah Shire Council to award 28 scholarships. Many of these sponsors invest in our community’s future by contributing financially each and every year.

The presentation took place this week (February 6) at the Civic Theatre, with guest speaker, teacher and past Scholarship Fund recipient Oliver Neader.
The recipients for the 2024 Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund are:

  • Hollie Bennett, Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Honours) (Radiation Therapy), University of Newcastle
    Paul Cabanas, Bachelor of Software Engineering, University of Newcastle
    Maddison Coombs, Bachelor of Clinical Exercise Physiology, University of New England
    Lewis Donaldson, Bachelor of Communication, Charles Sturt University
    Alice Donnelly, Diploma in Science including Bachelor of Psychological Science (Advanced), University of Newcastle
    Emma Doyle, Bachelor of Criminology/Bachelor of Laws (Honours), University of Newcastle
    Harry Fairfull, Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering (Honours), University of Southern Queensland
    Lucy Gainsford, Bachelor of Exercise and Sports Science, University of New England
    Josie Gallagher, Bachelor of Education K-12, Charles Sturt University
    Maya Gallagher, Bachelor of Occupational Therapy (Honours), University of Newcastle
    Lara Hewitt, Bachelor of Nursing, University of Canberra
    Molly Houguet, Bachelor of Education (Primary), University of Newcastle
    Callie Jeffrey, Bachelor of Primary Education, University of Newcastle
    Henry Johns, Bachelor of Nutrition and Dietetics, University of Newcastle
    Goran Kelly, Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Southern Queensland
    Mackenzie Leader, Bachelor of Education (Secondary), University of Newcastle
    Annalise Martin, Bachelor of Laws, University of New England
    Lillian McNamara, Bachelor of Primary Education, University of Wollongong
    Lucy Moore, Bachelor of Accounting, Charles Sturt University
    Chloe Newman, Bachelor of Educational Studies and Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood and Primary), Swinburne University of Technology
    Aimee Randall, Bachelor of Nursing, University of Newcastle
    Samantha Randall, Bachelor of Nursing, University of New England
    Ashlyn Summers, Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Diagnostic), Charles Sturt University
    Chloe Sumpter, Bachelor of Nursing, University of Wollongong
    Imogen Taylor, Bachelor of Secondary Education, University of Notre Dame
    Millie Taylor, Bachelor of Exercise Science/Master of Physiotherapy and Exercise Physiology, University of New South Wales
    Yasmin Thomas, Bachelor of Nutrition and Dietetics (Honours), University of Newcastle
    Leisel Torrens, Bachelor of Agriculture, University of New England


Caption: Some of the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund recipients.


For more information, contact Gunnedah Shire Council’s Communications team on (02) 6740 2100.